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Kings of War (2015) - Official Errata

Errata:
Page 57 - Multiple Charges section: Replace the first 
sentence with:

“If two or more of your units are able to charge the 
same enemy unit, they can do so, as long as they can 
all fit against the target facing once the charges are 
completed.”

Errata:
Page 57 - Multiple Charges section: Replace the last 
paragraph with:

“Also note that, in multiple charges, charging units 
charging the same target facing cannot cross each 
other’s way in, i.e. they cannot swap places and must 
remain in the same relative positions to the target facing 
when they started their charge (see the last example 
of Diagram H. Units A and B cannot swap places to try 
and result in the final situation shown in the middle 
example in the diagram and thus only the two units may 
legally charge).”

Errata:
Page 57 - Counter Charge: In some early editions of the 
PDF people may have downloaded, there is a missing 
paragraph from the Counter Charge section. There 
should be five paragraphs in total and the third should 
read:

“Rather than making a normal Charge move, the unit 
simply pivots to face the target unit then moves forward 
until it makes contact with the target’s front face. The 
unit cannot move through friendly or enemy units while 
making this move, though it may pivot through other 
units as long as it ends clear of them. Once it makes 
contact, it aligns with the target unit as normal.”

This was reintroduced once it was noticed so that later 
copies and printed books will be correct.

Errata:
Page 62 - Replace the second bullet point with the 
following:

•	 LOS to at least half of the target unit’s facing passes 
over intervening units or terrain (including difficult 
terrain the target unit is in contact with)
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Charging

Q: When declaring a multiple charge against a target, are all the  
units considered to charge simultaneously or do they move one at 
a time?

A: The charges are declared simultaneously but the units are 
moved one at a time. This means that units must have LOS to 
the target and be in range from their Leader point to declare the 
charge. Other units charging the same target can be moved first 
if it means units behind them can then make a legal charge move.  
What’s important is that they have room to legally get there and 
then fit against the target facing at the end of all the charge moves. 

Note however that units still cannot swap places (cross each other’s 
paths on the way in) and must maintain their positions relative to 
each other and the target unit facing. Also see the related question 
below.

Q: When declaring a multiple charge, can units shuffle sideways 
to accommodate other units charging the same facing in a multiple 
charge before the other units move? Can units potentially block 
each other from declaring a multiple charge in the first place?

A: Yes to both. Assuming all units can legally make the charge 
move, move each unit and shuffle it to its final position (ready to 
accommodate the other units so they all share the space available) 
before moving the next unit. Tidy up the unit arrangement against 
the target facing after all chargers have moved so they share the 
space correctly if you’ve judged it slightly wrong.

It could be however that if a unit is too close behind another, that 
even though it can see the target and is in range and the more 
advanced unit goes first and shuffles, a single pivot when charging 
is still not enough to make contact. This would be a failed charge 
and the unit must be given a different order. Nimble units can 
obviously avoid this with their extra pivot!
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Units A and B declare a multiple 
charge on Unit C.

Unit B moves first and shuffles to the side 
ready to accomodate Unit A.

Unit A is too close to Unit B and cannot 
pivot and make a legal charge move to 
contact the target. The charge is failed and 
Unit A must be given a different order. Unit  
B would then be shuffled back to  centre on 
Unit C.

Q: A unit can sometimes be “boxed in” by multiple enemy units or 
blocking terrain, stopping it from doing anything but back up (and 
sometimes not even that!). The positioning of an enemy unit might 
mean that none of the viable targets that the unit should be able 
to charge can be because the charging unit cannot align to any of 
them. How should this be resolved?

In the example below, the horde has two enemy regiments directly 
in front that it should be able to charge, but is blocked because it 
would overlap other enemy units or blocking terrain. It is boxed in 
and can’t do anything except retreat.
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Units A and B declare a multiple 
charge on Unit C.

Unit B moves first and shuffles to the left. 
Unit A can then  make a legal charge move 
to contact and align to the target face too.

They have kept their relative positions to 
each other and the facing of the target unit.
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A: This would be unusual to actually happen accidently although 
may occasionally crop up. It is of course perfectly fine to force an 
enemy unit to legally charge a unit of your choosing (e.g. screening 
a unit with a cheaper one) but forcing a situation where no legal 
charge is possible (total charge blocking) is not permitted. The 
recommended way to resolve this is to allow the charging unit to 
select their target of choice (either of the two units to the front in 
the example given), move into contact and then align the target to 
the charger rather than the other way round. Units not involved in 
the combat are then nudged away as normal if needed.

How to resolve these situations greatly depends on other units and 
terrain. Players should use the recommended approach above but 
roll-off or find a neutral third party if they’re unable to agree this is 
the best solution for their specific case.

Q: How does unit alignment work when one or more units charge 
an Individual?

A: Move the first charging unit to contact the Individual. The 
Individual then aligns to this first charging unit. The remaining 
charging units then make contact and align to the Individual.

Special Rules

Q: If a unit has two Breath Attacks (e.g. starts with one and buys 
the Diadem of Dragon-kind), do the two stack?

A: No, they are two separate ranged attacks.

Q: Can a unit use its Fly special rule when being moved forwards 
by the Surge spell?

A: No. Units are Surged along the ground.

Spells

Q: When a unit is Surged but contact is made against a corner of 
an enemy unit and not an edge, which of the target unit’s arcs is 
considered to have been charged?

A: If you can see this is going to happen, determine which arc 
of the target unit the leader point of the surging unit is in before 
it moves. That is then the side the surging unit will align to and 
attack. This is only the case when the surging unit hits a corner, 
otherwise the normal surge rules apply.

Multi-basing and using Counts-as units

Q: When multi-basing a unit, what’s the minimum amount of 
models that should be used to represent the unit size being 
modelled?

A: Page 206 of the rulebook says that “it must be reasonably close 
to the correct amount, so that there is no chance of misleading 
your opponents in regards to the real size of the unit.”

Obviously, rather than stifle creativity, this has been left vague so 
that people can express their units as they wish. For friendly games 
and among regular gaming partners, anything goes. However, for 
fairness in organised play and to ensure the intended spectacle of 
massed battles the game is all about, for events there should be a 
minimum number of models using the rules below.

Models must be based on the appropriate base size and shape for 
their type. Unit-basing (or “multi-basing”) is permitted so long 
as the unit footprint is accurate for the unit size. Model counts 
for multi-based units must be at least one model greater than 
the listed number for the unit size below (or more than 50% of 
the “expected” model count the unit is representing if there is no 
smaller size). For example, a multi-based Infantry Regiment must 
be at least 11 models (one more model than a Troop). The preferred 
model count is 66% or more to maintain the visual spectacle of 
mass battles.

Thus the unit footprint table can be expanded to show the 
Minimum Model Count (MMC) and Preferred Model Count (PMC) 
event sizing (as per the table below).

Q: How does minimum model size work when using “counts-as” 
models or proxies instead of the actual models? What is acceptable 
for an alternative model?

A: Proxy models or “counts-as” models must be appropriate 
alternatives to the models they are representing (no Treemen 
representing orclings!). They should follow the same guidelines 
for minimum model counts as above or should occupy the 
equivalent volume (or as close as possible) as the models they are 
representing. For example, 2 heavy chariots taking up roughly the 
same space as the regiment of 10 knights they are representing 
is acceptable. AT ALL TIMES, it must be clear to your opponent 
what the unit actually represents. Inform them clearly before the 
game begins what is what in your army if you have any such units 
and remind them during the game too. You should avoid any 
confusing imagery (models with wings that don’t actually have the 
Fly special rule for example).

UNIT 
TYPE

BASE SIZE
TROOP REGIMENT HORDE LEGION

Footprint MMC PMC Footprint MMC PMC Footprint MMC PMC Footprint MMC PMC

Infantry 20x20mm 100x40mm 6 7+ 100x80mm 11 14+ 200x80mm 21 27+ 200x120mm 41 41+

Infantry 25x25mm 125x50mm 6 7+ 125x100mm 11 14+ 250x100mm 21 27+ 250x150mm 41 41+

Cavalry 25x50mm 125x50mm 3 4+ 125x100mm 6 7+ 250x100mm 11 14+ n/a - -

Lrg Inf 40x40mm n/a - - 120x40mm 2 2+ 120x80mm 4 4+ 240x80mm 7 9+

Lrg Cav 50x50mm n/a - - 150x50mm 2 2+ 150x100mm 4 4+ 300x100mm 7 9+

Lrg Cav 50x150mm n/a - - 150x100mm 2 2+ 150x200mm 4 4+ 300x200mm 7 9+


